TIA has brought together 14 national research infrastructure facilities to accelerate translation of Australian research discoveries to clinical application. These facilities focus on delivering critical services to support development of different classes of therapeutic products ie. Biologics, Cell and Gene Therapies and Small Moleculeswith each facility led by world-class researchers as listed below. 

Prof Ian Alexander

Research Leader

 Sydney Cell and Gene Therapy

Prof Katherine Andrews

Acting Director, GRIDD

Compounds Australia

Prof Lisa Askie


 Australian New Zealand

Clinical Trials Registry

Prof Jonathan Baell


 Australian Translational Medicinal Chemistry Facility

Prof Susan Charman


 Centre for Drug Candidate Optimisation

Dr Edwin Huang

Facility Manager

National Biologics Facility, NSW node

Darron Laing

Facility Manager

Q-Gen Cell Therapeutics

Wilma James
Strategic Business Manager Compounds Australia

Dr Leszek Lisowski 

Research Leader

Sydney Cell and Gene Therapy

Prof Trent Munro


National Biologics Facility, Qld Node

Prof John Rasko AO


Cell and Molecular Therapies at

RPA Hospital

Dr Leon Scott

General Manager

Q-Gen Cell Therapeutics

Emeritus Prof Maree Smith AC


Centre for Integrated Preclinical Drug Development

Moana Simpson

Facility Manager

Compounds Australia

A/Prof Marian Sturm


 Cell and Tissue Therapies WA

Dr Peter Tapley



A/Prof Dominic Wall

CSO Cell Therapies Pty Ltd

 PeterMac Centre of Excellence in Cellular Immunotherapy

Level 14, 330 Collins St

Melbourne 3000 VIC


T: +61 (07) 3735 4433

©2019 Therapeutic Innovation Australia


Enabled by